MAIN Pages

What is ADHD and What are the MAIN Subtypes?

What is Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD, ADD) & What Are the MAIN Subtypes?

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is one of the most common childhood disorders and can continue through adolescence and adulthood. ADHD has common symptoms and 3 MAIN subtypes, however each person exhibits their own specific characteristics.

Symptoms include:

  1. Difficulty staying focused and paying attention
  2. difficulty controlling behavior
  3. hyperactivity (over-activity)

ADHD has three subtypes:

1. Predominantly hyperactive-impulsive

Most symptoms (six or more) are in the hyperactivity-impulsivity categories.
Fewer than six symptoms of inattention are present, although inattention may still be present to some degree.

2.Hyperactivity (over-activity)

The majority of symptoms (six or more) are in the inattention category and fewer than six symptoms of hyperactivity-impulsivity are present, although hyperactivity-impulsivity may still be present to some degree.

Children with this subtype are less likely to act out or have difficulties getting along with other children. They may sit quietly, but they are not paying attention to what they are doing. Therefore, the child may be overlooked, and parents and teachers may not notice that he or she has ADHD.

3. Combined hyperactive-impulsive and inattentive
Six or more symptoms of inattention and six or more symptoms of hyperactivity-impulsivity are present.
Most children have the combined type of ADHD.